Countering Piracy

By Fred Boom

The painting by Fred Boom depicts an anti-piracy action during Operations ‘OCEAN SHIELD’ and ‘ATALANTA’.

Operation ‘OCEAN SHIELD’ was NATO’s counter-piracy mission in the Indian Ocean, the Gulf of Aden and the Arabian Sea, between 2008 and 2016. The aim was to deter and disrupt attacks on merchant vessels by Somali pirates. The Task Force also helped to increase the general level of security in the region through different military operations, together with non-NATO partners and interaction with local Somali leaders.

Operation ‘ATALANTA’, formally European Union Naval Force (EU NAVFOR) – Somalia, is a current counter-piracy military operation off the coast of Somalia. It is the first naval operation conducted by the European Union (EU) and was launched on 8 December 2008 within the framework of the European Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP), and in accordance with United Nations Security Council Resolutions (UNSCR) and International Law. One of the most important tasks was the protection of vessels of the UN World Food Program.

Working side-by-side with the Royal Navy and other units of NATO Allies and EU member States, the Royal Netherlands Navy contributed to both missions with Frigates, Ocean-going Patrol Vessels, Landing Platform Docks, Submarines, Tankers (AORs), shipborne Maritime helicopters, Landing Craft, Vessel Protection Detachments and Maritime Special Operations Forces. HNLMS Tromp (F803), depicted here, was one of the participating frigates.

Edition: 200
Download the biographies (Curriculum Vitae) of the signatories here.

Maritime-heritage-paintings-art-Countering Piracy
Maritime-heritage-paintings-art-Countering Piracy
The signatories are:
Royal Navy
  • Commander A. (Adam) Ballard
  • Rear Admiral (Ret’d) R.K. (Bob) Tarrant CB MA
Royal Netherlands Navy
  • Sergeant Major RNLMC (Ret’d) S.O. (Sander) Aarts
  • Lieutenant (Ret’d) P.J. (Peter) Groen
  • Sergeant Major RNLMC J.H. (Johan) van der Hek
  • Lieutenant (Eng) A. (Anne) Hoogeveen
  • Commodore (Ret’d) M. (Michiel) Hijmans
  • Captain A. (André) van der Kamp
  • Commander (Ret’d) R.F.M. (Richard) Keulen
  • Commodore (Ret’d) P.W. (Peter) Lenselink
  • Commodore (Ret’d) H. (Hans) Lodder
  • Lieutenant (Ret’d) Y. (Yvonne) Niersman
  • Captain G.H. (Gerrit) Nijenhuis
  • Major General R.G. RNLMC (Richard) Oppelaar
  • Lieutenant Colonel RNLMC (Ret’d) R. (Ronald) Poetiray
  • Lieutenant Commander (Ret’d) B.L. (Bastiaan) Ruizeveld de Winter
  • Captain J.W.A. (Jan Willem) Scheuer
  • Lieutenant General RNLMC V. (Frank) van Sprang
  • Commander N.W.P. (Niels) van Swelm
  • Vice Admiral R.P. (René) Tas
  • Commander E. (Eelke) Toering
  • Lieutenant General RNLMC (Ret’d) R. (Rob) Verkerk
  • SergeantJ.M. (Jessica) Wesemann-Verhofstad
Royal Netherlands Army
  • Lieutenant Colonel M. (Maarten) Gortworst
Royal Netherlands Air Force
  • Lieutenant Colonel D.C.(David) van de Bunte
  • Sergeant Major T.C. (Tarinda) Frijters – van der Gouwe

Our projects: